Prolouge

Prologue

I don’t really remember much about how I died. Funny now that I think about it, that’s really something I should have stopped to think about. Not that I really had a choice in the matter anyways. Before I knew it, I had ended up….

Where am I again?

“Oh, you’ve awakened,” comes a voice from behind me, sounding for all the world like a million chimes fluttering in the wind, each soft note reaching new levels of beauty, “I was wondering how long you’d sleep there.”

Turning my head, I am greeted by what must be the most beautiful woman in the world. Her features constantly change, and each shift is always more beautiful, more entrancing than the last, so much so that it becomes futile to even describe her. The only constant being a thin, white cloth that covers her body just enough that no matter how you turn look, nothing past the white barrier can be seen.

Tearing my eyes away from their agonizing to look her in the eyes, I ask, “How long have I been here?”

“Oh, I don’t know,” she replies, furrowing her brow in thought, “Perhaps a few seconds, maybe a few centuries. Time doesn’t work the same here as in your world.”

“What do you mean, as in my world? Are we not on earth anymore?”

“Well of course,” she asks, confused, “Haven’t you stopped to look around?”

Well, I have, but perhaps not in the sense that she wants me to.

Looking around, I see… nothing. It’s just a blank space.

“So uh,” I ask, turning back to the woman, “Where are we- no wait, first, who are you?”

“Me?” asks the woman, “I am Aphrey, Goddess of The Beginning. That’s where we are, by the way. The Beginning of All Things.”

“Are you sure this is a place where someone like me should be?”

“Well, of course,” Aphrey responds, “You shall be my Antecedent, my first man. Just as Adam from your world guided his God of The Beginning, you as well shall guide mine.”

“In English please.”

Aphrey sighs, covering her face with her hands, “Why are you people always so difficult? Your job is simply to lend the power of your imagination to me. Once I have that, I’ll be able use the full extent of my powers as a Goddess of the Beginning to create a new universe from the image I get.”

I don’t understand why we had to go through this, but lets leave it for now.

“Okay then? I’ll lend it, so now-”

“Shh…” Aphrey says, silencing me with a finger across my lips, “I’ll be sure to make the greatest world out of this. For now, you just sleep.”

I try to open my mouth to speak, but my body refuses to move. My eyes feel heavy now, and as I fall to the floor, my now heavy eyes close shut, obscuring the swirling colors coiling around me, looking for all the world, like the legendary feathered rainbow serpent.

Leave a Reply

